Gründungsakt am 3. November 1964


1912Strecknitz Treatment and Care Centre
After 1945City Hospital East
3 November 1964Lübeck Academy of Medicine (2nd Faculty of Medicine of the Christian Albrechts University of Kiel), clinical semester in the medical school
7 May 1973Medical School of Lübeck

Preclinical Faculty of Natural Sciences (today: the Informatics/Engineering and Natural Sciences sections), for students in the preclinical semester of their medical school

10 May 1985Medical Universität zu Lübeck
WS 1993/94Informatics programme
WS 2001/02Molecular Biotechnology programme (now: Molecular Life Science)
29 May 2002Universität zu Lübeck
WS 2002/03Computational Life Science programme
WS 2002/03Biomedical Engineering programme

WS 2007/08

Medical Engineering programme

WS 2011/12Medical Informatics programme
WS 2012Infection Biology programme
WS 2013/14Psychology programme
WS 2014/15Media Informatics programme
WS 2014/15Entrepreneurship in Digital Technologies programme
WS 2014/15Nursing programme

1 January 2015

Foundation under public law

WS 2016/17

Biophysics programme
WS 2016/17Robotics and Autonomous Systems programme
WS 2016/17IT Security programme
WS 2016/17Medical Nutrition Science programme

WS 2016/17

Physiotherapy programme

WS 2017/18Midwifery programme
WS 2017/18Auditory Technology programme
WS 2018/19Occupational Therapy / Speech and Language Therapy programme
WS 2019/20Medicine, state board examination programme
WS 2021/22Medical Microtechnology programme
WS 2022/23Applied Nursing (part-time)
WS 2022/23Psychology – Clinical psychology and psychotherapy programme
WS 2022/23Psychology – Cognitive Systems programme

University Rectors/Presidents:

  • Prof. Dr. med. Friedhelm Oberheuser
    (Rector 1973 - 1975)
  • Erhard D. Klinke
    (President 1975 - 1987)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Peter C. Scriba
    (Rector 1987 - 1989)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Henkel
    (Rector 1990 - 1996)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Kühnel
    (Rector 1996 - 1999)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Hans Arnold
    (Rector 1999 - 2002)
  • Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Alfred X. Trautwein
    (Rector 2002 - 2005)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Peter Dominiak
    (Rector 2005 - 2008, President 2008 - 2014)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Hendrik Lehnert
    (President 2014 - 2017)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Gabriele Gillessen-Kaesbach
    (President since 2018)