Doctoral awards

Otto-Roth-Preis (Medicine)

The Otto-Roth-Preis award is given annually due to a donation by the University of Lübeck. It is bestowed by the Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer of the University of Lübeck to appreciate outstanding dissertations.

Professor Otto Roth (1862-1944), the eponym of the award was the first expert in surgery of Lübeck. From 1897 to 1933, he was head of the Surgical Department which is part of the „Allgemeines Krankenhaus“ of the Hanseatic city. In a collaboration with Heinrich Dräger he developed the world-famous Roth-Dräger anesthesia which was the beginning of modern ventilation technology.

The prize is endowed with 2,500 € and is assigned every year.

The doctoral committee submits a proposal, which is usually followed by the presidium and alumni.

Previous laureates:

2018 Dr. med. Louisa Bolm, Surgery

2017 Dr. med. Johanna Schuchard, Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology

2016 Dr. rer. nat. Katharina Schregel, Neuroradiology

2015 Dr. rer. biol. hum. Christina Loley, Medical Biometry and Statistics

2014 Dr. rer. nat. Bernhard Gleich, Medical technology

2013 Dr. med. Celine Hardenbicker, Dermatology

2012 Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Inf. Michael Andreas Christian Dorr, Neurolo- and Bioinformatics

2011 Dr. rer. hum. biol. Susanne Diekelmann, Neuroendocrinology

2010 Dr. rer. nat. Christoph Rademacher, Chemics

2009 Dr. rer. hum. biol. Dipl. oec. troph. Christian Benedict, Neuroendocrinology

2008 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Werner, Telematics

2007 Dr. med. Daniel Siegl, Physiology

2006 Dr. rer. nat. Dipl.-Phys. Jörg Neumann, medical laser-centre

2005 Dr. med. Dmitry Cherkasov, Biology 

2004 Dr. rer. nat. Paul D. Mannheimer, PhD, Medical technology