Research Training Group

and Kornelia Johann

Two doctoral students from the German Research Foundation (DFG)-funded Research Training Group 1957 (“Adipocyte-Brain-Crosstalk”), Jana-Thabea Kiehn and Kornelia Johann, have won prestigious awards from the German Society for Endocrinology (DGE).

Jana-Thabea Kiehn, from the Institute of Neurobiology at the University of Lübeck, received the Dissertation Prize for Young Endocrinologists for her 2018 dissertation entitled “Central circadian regulation of leptin signalling”. The prize includes prize money worth 2,000 euros. “This is a great success for Jana and underlines the excellent quality of the dissertations in our Research Training Group 1957,” says Prof. Henrik Oster, head of the Institute and spokesperson for the group.

Kornelia Johann, from the Molecular Endocrinology Working Group, received the Von Basedow Award for her work on the role of thyroid hormones in the regulation of body temperature via thermogenic fat deposits. The award is shared with a dissertation from the University of Duisburg-Essen. Each winner received 2,500 euros.

“I am absolutely delighted that, following last year’s success, we have once again brought the Von Basedow Award to Lübeck. This achievement shows that we at the university’s Center of Brain Behavior and Metabolism, where both Ms Kiehn and Ms Johann work, are able to conduct research at a consistently high level,” adds Prof. Jens Mittag, head of the Working Group.

The two winners will receive their prizes at the society’s 62nd Annual Meeting from 20-22 March 2019 in Göttingen.

Jana-Thabea Kiehn and Kornelia Johann with Prof. Henrik Oster and Prof. Jens Mittag (from left to right; Photo: Research Training Group 1957)